The Oklahoma Arts Council is seeking nominations for the 42nd Annual Governor’s Arts Awards through September 12. The awards recognize individuals and organizations whose contributions to the arts have had an impact in communities, schools, or across the state. The awards will be presented by the Governor during a special ceremony at the state Capitol in the spring.
Awards are presented in several categories:
The Governor’s Award – recognizes individuals for longtime leadership and significant contributions to the arts across Oklahoma.
Arts in Education Award – recognizes an individual, organization, school, educator or group for their outstanding leadership and service in the arts benefitting youth and/or arts in education.
Business in the Arts Award – recognizes businesses/corporations who exhibit outstanding support of the arts in Oklahoma. This award was created in memory of Earl Sneed, prominent arts advocate.
Community Service Award – recognizes individuals for significant contributions to the arts in specific Oklahoma communities in the areas of leadership and volunteerism.
Media in the Arts Award – recognizes an individual member in the media who demonstrates commitment to the arts in Oklahoma documented through public awareness support and fairness, initiative, creativity and professionalism in reporting. This award was created in memory of Bill Crawford, veteran professional journalist.
George Nigh Public Service in the Arts Award – recognizes an Oklahoma government official for outstanding support of the arts. The category was named in honor of former Oklahoma Governor George Nigh.
Nominees must be current residents of the State of Oklahoma and living in Oklahoma full time, or organizations/businesses that work in and for the benefit of Oklahoma. Previous recipients of The Governor’s Award are not eligible. Honorees will be selected by the Governor’s Arts Awards Selection Committee, which is comprised of members of the Governor-appointed Oklahoma Arts Council board and may include past Governor’s Award recipients.
An online nomination form and a downloadable nomination form are available at Deadline for submissions is Tuesday, September 12, 2017.